Diablo clones, Ahoy!

If you were keeping up with my GameDev.net Journal, you may recall that I was interested in playing as many “Diablo clones” as I could. I’m going to be very loose in my classification of what makes a game a Diablo clone, suffice it to say that if there’s some amount of Action and a peppering of RPG, then I’m there. I’m going to consider Fallout a turn-based Diablo1 clone, until such time as I deem myself horribly wrong.

I decided it was time to see if I could pick up some of the games from my Diablo clone list at E. B. Games. I found only three:

Dungeon Siege II Deluxe Edition ($19.99cdn)
Fate ($19.99cdn)
Restricted Area ($39.99cdn)

I’d say that of the three, you would be most familiar with Dungeon Seige. I’ve installed that first, and it will be the first of the three I will try out. I’ve never played any of these games, and I have no idea what I’m getting into.

Some of you may recognize Fate, and if you’re not familiar I recommend giving the demo a shot. I was addicted but the time ran out and I didn’t get around to picking it up until now. I’ll probably be trying this one last, since I’ve already been here.

I’ve never heard of Restricted Area, and I’m sure you probably haven’t either. It’s set in a futuristic sorta Shadowrun-looking world. I have no idea what to expect from this, but I’m excited to play it. I expect cool things from it. I’ll certainly be posting about it no matter how I feel about it, so be sure to check in once in a while if you’re curious.

If you know of any Diablo clones that aren’t in my list, please drop me a comment and let me know? I’d really appreciate it.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

